Reviews of our Fork Hoe

The Chillington fork hoe is for cultivating and weeding. The tines of this forged hoe easily penetrate firm soil to stir and aerate the soil, or to remove weeds along with their roots.   Click here to see the tool details, pricing, and sizes: Fork Hoe page

Here are links to our pages with Grub Hoe reviews, and our Grape Hoe reviews, and our general Garden Hoe reviews.

Chillington Fork Hoe

Verified Customer Reviews

List is only updated a few times each year. For most recent reviews, click here.

Dear Greg, Best gardening tools I have ever purchased! I am going to use the 3-prong tool for digging potatoes which will do a great job. The pointed tool I have used for making furrows for planting seeds, and it is a superb tool for digging weeds out of the garden. So happy to have found your company -- Warren

Warren from CT     07/19/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Order came when they said it would with no issues. The hoe I got was just what they said it would be and works like a champ. I wouldn't doubt it if this thing out lives me. Very happy with Easy Digging and yes I do recommend them to anyone who needs quality tools.

Bob from NY     06/19/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I actually purchased the set of hoes for my sister. She had seen a set I had purchased over 8 years ago and recently asked me to sell her one of mine. I explained they were a set and I didn't want to lose one. She asked me to please order a set for her. She loves them, as I still do my own. They are an investment and pricey, but they are worth it. Also, by purchasing the complete set, she received a free sharpening file.

Joe from United States     06/19/18

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

I'm newly retired and over the decades I have worn out many shovels and tillers in my garden. This is the best tool I have ever used both for my back and pocket book. Along with the grub hoe I can turn over a new garden spot deeper and better than before. This is a great tool for planting small trees. Work around a spot with 4 or 5 quick forkings, scoop out the loose dirt with my hands, set the sapling, slide the dirt back and water. My wife even likes to use it. She uses her weight not upper body strength to work the soil.

Opa from NC     04/17/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I haven't used the product yet. its for use to remove old grass, but its rainy season now, so i can't use it. ask me again in a couple months.

Eldeeboy from WA     04/17/18

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

I haven't used the tools that I purchased yet as it is still winter in MN, however they are well made and heavy duty. They arrived well packaged and in a timely manner.

Jackie from MN     03/21/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I ordered the medium size long handled hoe and the similar three prong tool and for turning over soil in a 8'x10' foot garden the hoe is the tool to use. Previously I would have used a shovel, but this hoe seems to make the work much easier and faster and digs sufficiently deep with less effort than the old shovel. I look forward to using these tools. The long handle really helps.

JEH from United States     03/19/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Love your digging tool. Makes a hard job easy.

Steven L. from FL     10/25/17

Rating = 4.6 / 5     See Review

The Chillington fork hoe is the best tool I have ever used. I have heavy clay/rocky soil & It works up ground the tractor cant touch & when used with deep tap root weeds you can loosen up the soil to pull them up instead of breaking off at the surface.

Ross from OR     07/19/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Products arrive on time and are high-quality. The 6" Grub Hoe and the Chillington Weeding Fork are the best tools I've found for digging and heavy weeding, respectively. Note that the Grub Hoe handles are very thick, so best to wear thin gloves such as disposable nitrile gloves for improved grip.

MikeOnline from CA     06/26/17

Rating = 4.6 / 5     See Review

We use Easy Digging hoes exclusively in our gardens and fields. The grub hoe tills the earth much deeper and wider than a regular hoe. We call the regular hoes "toys" after using Greg Baka's grub hoes. Recently, we've switched to the grape hoe for almost everything. This tool is heavy and will give you a workout, but it covers an amazing amount of ground in a short time and easily removes weeds and tills deeply.
Since 2010, we've been working to convert our lawns into gardens. The method that works best for us is to use the grape/grub hoes to chop off the grass and their roots. Then use a garden fork to shake the dirt from the grass clod (no wasting that good soil). Lastly, we use the hoes again to finely till the soil. Using this method, we've been able to turn useless lawn in bountiful garden even our hard clay (we toss in some gypsum at the tilling stage to prevent the clay from re-hardening later). I hope this helps. We could not have done this without the grub and grape hoes from Easy Digging.

Gregory from MO     06/15/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Heavy duty gardening tools at a great price. I bought a grub hoe, a grape hoe, and a two fork hoe. All three hoes are made of heavy steel with good thick handles that are long enough for ease of use. I like the security of the wedge mount. I am glad I found this site and will be in the market for a cultivator soon. I can't find this quality of a garden tool at any of my local stores.

Ray W from United States     05/17/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I bought a grub hoe many years ago that my daughter "borrowed" and I didn't feel like borrowing it back - so I bought another grub hoe plus a fork and grape hoe to expand my tool choices. An all-around positive outcome for my tool rack repertoire.

Jim Bob from GA     04/18/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I was looking for a fork hoe for cultivating and could not find one locally that looked like it would hold up under hard use. After browsing Easydigging.com I saw that the grub hoe was probably the tool I needed for my job so I purchased both a grub hoe and a fork hoe/chillington fork. They were shipped quickly, and I purchased enough that shipping was free. The instructions were clear and the handles, heads, and wedges were all labeled and marked so there was no confusion. This was good as both heads and one wedge came loose from their containers during shipping.
I am impressed how well the grub hoe slices through patches of grass, weeds, and small tree roots compared to a gardening hoe. I was able to make much better time and cultivate deeper. The large diameter handles are comfortable for long yard work sessions. Both the grub hoe and fork hoe worked very well in my flower beds for turning under leaves and pulling up clumps of perennials that I needed to divide. I was worried the 6" hoe would be too large for my flower beds, but it is still nimble enough that it can be maneuvered around plants, rocks, and edging. If I "choke up" on the handle I can also do some shallow hoeing.
These are premium tools that I am sure i will have my entire life. They seem expensive, but in reality the Easydigging.com hoe costs only slightly more than a "premium" hoe at the hardware store, and the wedge handles should be easier to find & replace. I plan to continue adding more forged garden tools to my collection as I figure out what else I need.

This Isn't Funny from UT     04/18/17

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

I have both sizes of the grub hoe and the fork hoe. They all work great in the garden, yard and around the farm. The grub hoes have heavy heads that dig into the dense black clay where I live. I recommend these tools to my friends and neighbors.

David from TX     04/18/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Bought three hoes. Grub hoes seem to be very common, but simply can't be found for purchase the general marketplace.
EasyDigging offers quality products, fair prices, fast shipping, and real people running the company and manning the phones.
A+

tripletmom from TX     11/16/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Best purchase of garden equipment in a long time. I have great results from my grub, grape and fork hoes. Very reliable equipment.

Ray from LA     09/16/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The tools that I ordered are very good quality and I am sure that they will last a lifetime. I used the fork hoe for digging up invasive blackberries. It did a wonderful job.
The order arrived faster than I anticipated. The instructions for assembly were clear and concise. and the parts were clearly marked.
I have looked hard in both box stores and on the internet for good quality, heavy garden tools. You business was the only one that carried the goods that I was looking for and at a price that beat the lower quality tools at other locations.
I am very happy with my purchase and show off my tools every opportunity that I get. My friends and Family have all been directed to your website.

Champion from WA     08/20/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The Chillington Fork Hoe I purchased was very nice, but the handle was great. I was impressed with both the tool and the handle, which seems to be custom made.
The handle was thick and comfortable to grip, and the provided metal wedge did a great job in locking the head in place. My past complaints with similar tools--slip-on heads--were the constant effort needed to keep the head tight, but this system seems to work much better, it really does stay in place.
The forged head was nicely finished with no rough edges, and the overall tool was nicely balanced. Been using it mostly for prepping fall garden beds; weeding and digging in compost.

JJB from WA     08/17/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I bought 2 different tools through this company. The rake fork and the grub hoe. Currently I am redoing my garden and I have only used those two tools, and I have a rack of tools at my disposal. great quality and service!

Mike C from OH     08/17/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I was just thrilled that a product like this was available in the States! The website was straightforward and the service and delivery was great. My husband appreciated the hoe as a present, which had a study wood handle and good quality metal business end. Great job to you all!

Michelle from OH     07/20/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The fork and grubbing hoe are very well made of good steel and handles. Delivery came 3 days early! And the tools have really torn up the new ground for the gardens.
Good prices and even better products!!!

Nate from OH     07/04/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I bought the grubbing hoe, the grape hoe and the fork hoe. Note: I have 14 compromised discs and 4 compromised vertebra. The soil, for the most part was clay back fill, 2" of top soil and 2" of compost. My comments should be read in context. The grub hoe was, at first, useless as was the grape hoe. They simply would not go through the soil except when I used the corners. So I switched to the fork hoe, working forward so I walked on the freshly hoed soil as I went. Problem solved; I went through the crust of overburden and gravel. I switched direction and used the grub hoe to break up the large chunks.
If I had used the broad fork or the triangular hoe first, it might have been easier, but these beds were narrow and I have not worked compost or manure into the "soil" yet but I am still convinced these are the right tools for my yard. Once I get the soil loosened I will amend it and use the grub hoe to mix the manure and peat into it.
The grape hoe was used to weed areas the landscaped had "disturbed" with a back hoe to plant trees and shrubs. Ten minutes with a file and the sharp grape hoe cut the weeds easily. Be patient, keep the hoe no higher than your waist and let the tool do the work. On heavy com-packed soil it will take some time. But I had no back pain!
I have a forged steel rake with the tines set about 3" apart to level the soil. Now I wish you carried a heavy "walking" edger of the same quality as your other tools.
FYI, I sold my tiller; who needs it with these tools.

Grits from OH     06/17/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I ordered the Chillington Hoe. I really like the product. I am reworking flower beds that have been neglected for more than a decade. In the past, I have hired yard men but their work is usually very superficial and not thorough. Tools available at local gardening centers and hardware stores do not compare. If fact I would likely have given up using normal garden center tools. In fact, I would say that I am now a beginning gardener.
Delivery could be faster but that is my only complaint.

John S from TX     06/16/16

Rating = 3.4 / 5     See Review

Excellent well-made tools all. The English 3 tine fork is the ace for busting clods. I'm please to see a supplier avoiding the China junk trade.
I might purchase a broadfork soon.
You should consider carrying scythes.

David from WV     06/16/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The new fork an grubbing hoe are fantastic! Made quick work of the new gardens I wanted to plant this year. And, after using them for 9 days, they are still sharp!!!

Nan from OH     06/16/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I wanted a durable and efficient tool for tilling my garden. I found just what I needed. I am really glad that I finally have the right tools for the work I do. I am thinking about purchasing a couple more tools, now that I have had the chance to use these.

Scot from MI     05/20/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The best part is I don't have to start up that motorized tiller . I can use these implements to get the work done just as well. It has put the enjoyment back into gardening for me.

JD from AL     05/19/16

Rating = 4.2 / 5     See Review

I have looked everywhere for these kind of tools after moving from back Malta. The chillington fork broad fork gub hoe etc. Your prices are better than the local dealer in Maine.

Paul from ME     05/17/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The tools I bought were of good quality and had a good finish. I bought a grub hoe and hoe fork. I am satisfied with their performance so far. One thing I like about this site is the unique range of tools that are designed to decrease the stress of manual work.

defrey     05/17/16

Rating = 4.4 / 5     See Review

The fork hoe and pointed hoe exceeded expectations. Both are solid, substantive, and built to take the rigors of daily use.

Bart from VA     05/17/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

In March 2016 I bought a Fork Hoe and a Pointed Hoe from EasyDigging.com. Today is April 23 and I have used each of these tools for approximately 30 hours in a 1/2-acre garden. Both are quality tools that performed even better than expected. If you don't have or choose not to use a roto-tiller, the Fork Hoe will get you almost to the same place--with a lot less noise and bother. It is excellent for breaking clods, large as well as small, and for finding roots, rocks and other undesirable contents of your soil. (If you are taller than about six feet, be sure to order the longest available handle; the handles, by the way, for both of these tools are quality wood and stand up to some torture.) When you first start with the Fork Hoe it will seem heavy, but its heft is part of what makes it so effective. You will quickly get used to its balance and the resulting bite.
The Pointed Hoe also works well for busting clods, but it also makes an excellent "shuffle hoe," for skimming the very top level of soil--cutting weed sprouts without awaking deeper rhizomes. As is obvious from its shape, the Pointed Hoe is very good for banking soil and defining furrows. Like the Fork Hoe, this tool is well-balanced and strong.
Both of these are serious tools--made of what so far proves to be quality steel. The Pointed Hoe takes a good edge with minimal filing. One detail I especially like: for each of these tools the angle between the steel head and the handle is less acute (closer to 90 degrees) than on most tools of this type.
I placed my order over the phone; for tools there is nothing better than a human, first-person response. The advice and service I got was first-rate, and everything I was promised has actually happened: the handles were the right length, the tools arrived on time, and assembly was clear and satisfying.
These tools are so good that the only problem I'm having is keeping my associates from "borrowing" them and then forgetting...
Next on our wish-list: the broadfork.

Thom G from MD     04/23/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

We had to hand-fill an enormous trench, 3.5 feet deep, 4.5 feet across, with rubble (mostly round-rocks mixed with poor soil) 100 feet long, on a very steep hillside. Machines could not backfill, too dangerous. Found Easy Digging by google search, and asked them for advice about tools that would do this, as our "hardware store" garden tools were either too wimpy or not right for job. We bought the three tools that Mr Baka recommended: the 3-tined fork, the 4" and 6" digging hoes. All are forged steel, with 5-foot handles, allowing long reach. Prices were LESS than the lower-quality stuff at hardware store. Shipping was immediate, not expensive, within days we got the tools, to WA State. They do the job much better than shovels and an old mattock! This family business is wonderful, they also have an excellent, easy to use web site.!

Andy from WA     04/19/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I have now retired my gas tiller. I bought three tools: Grub Hoe, Grape Hoe, and Fork Hoe. They have worked beyond expectation and have allowed me to work the soil in my garden while still listening to the red-winged blackbirds sing. The Fork Hoe is the most versatile of the three and is always used in the garden. Well worth the price.

Jonathan from IA     04/19/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

This is a second set of tools I have ordered from EasyDigging.com The tools were very well priced and quality is top notch. The fork hoe and pointed hoe help ease yard and garden work. I have begun digging a 50ft trench to replace a leaking water supply line, the 4" & 6" grub hoes I just purchased have made the job so much easier. I am very satisfied with the tools, and I recommend EasyDigging.com to anyone who is looking for good quality garden tools.

Oscar I from United States     02/22/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Excellent product, price, and packaging! You will need a hammer to put the shaft and tool together.

Adele from CA     02/19/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I have a 4' by 4' compost pile and was struggling when I tried to turn it with a pitch fork and garden cultivator. It became a major chore. Enter, Fork Hoe. I went to the major home centers looking for a garden tool that would make this process easier, but could find nothing but standard rakes, hoes, and pitchforks. I then searched out compost turning tools on the web and came across the fork hoe at easydigging.com. The reviews were stellar and I decided to buy it. I can tell you that this is an excellent tool for turning compost piles (among many other things). It is so nice to dig into the pile and pull the compost back and forth instead of straining my back (I'm 67 years old). The tool may be a little heavy, but that's because the tool is VERY durable and should last a lifetime. Highly recommended!!

The Fork Hoe is Terrific from PA     01/15/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The grub hoe and the fork are both excellent tools. I've used them a lot already and they make short work of prepping my garden for next year - turning in compost and manure.

Chris from KS     12/21/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Your hoes are so great that someone stole one of mine off the premises. I felt lost without it and had to buy another one. Actually, I bought two.

Roesle from United States     10/16/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Greg, The grub hoe, grape hoe, Chilington fork hoe, 7 tine broadfork,and 4 inch grub hoe I bought for my wife, which she loves using, are all great to use. Thanks so much Greg for the wonderful tools. They make gardening so much more Fun.

Paul Z from PA     09/17/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Great tools. Been looking for this type of hoe for 5 yrs. Can't get over how good they are. Have told several friends about it. Thank you for your great tools.

Jerry from CA     08/13/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I love it, the garden looks so great, all the plants are happy...except for the weeds!!

Joseph from IN     06/16/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

After 40 years of gardening with a grub hoe,I was looking for something better than the u.s. style. The grape hoe,4 inch grub hoe and the Chillington grub fork are just what I've wanted all these years. I got my garden done in about half of the time,mostly using the grape hoe and the Chillington fork,I wish I had known about these tools years ago. The handles are real nice and easy to install,they come extra long so you can cut them to length after installing them to make them just the right size for how you use the tool.I use them in a stance like using an axe,so I like a handle the length that they use in Brazil,1.15 meters,or 45 1/4 inch.

Steve M from ME     05/17/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I've used the Wheel Hoe Double Wheel Hoe with the cultivators, plows, and disc-harrow, so far. When my plants pop up along with the weeds I'll use the oscillating weeder. All have worked very well and with relatively minimal effort. Plowing required a little more effort, but went well and very quickly. I also have the automatic seeder which I'll put to use in the next day or so. So far, I'm quite satisfied with the tools.
Also, I have the Grub Hoe and the Rake Hoe which are seem very well made and have come in handy.

Mark D. from PA     04/21/15

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

The European hoe is the tool I have been dreaming of for decades. Didn't know such a heavy duty hoe existed until I stumbled onto your website. it has become the mainstay of my gardening, solid to the feel and oh so effective.

Wayne H. from NC     04/21/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I have made a couple of purchases and these tools are great. A recent purchase included the fork hoe; and after using it for several days I have now decided that I can retire my rotary tiller! Great tools and Great service...

Mark B from TX     03/30/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Great tool I bought 2

Peter from United States     01/14/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The hoes and fork are excellent garden tools. They work really well for me in the removal of cactus. In fact I plan on purchasing a hoe for my daughter

Rodney from TX     12/12/14

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

Just a short note to tell you how satisfied I am with the fork hoe and pointed hoe I purchased from your company. Down here in Texas, weeds are a major problem. Over the years I have tried many garden tools and gadgets in this constant battle against the weeds. The Fork Hoe is one of the best tools I have used in this chore, it makes short order of any size or type of weed, a good quality product.

Oscar from TX     10/14/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Very good quality tools. I love the long handles and heavy built heads. This make the work so much easier. My wife thinks the 2 prong hoe is the greatest thing since sliced bread. No more big box store tools to waste my money on. Thanks for the great packaging and fast service.

James H from MO     08/26/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I was vary exited about receiving the tools they exceeded my expectations. (ordered, broad fork, fork hoe and 8" grape hoe) I had them on may wish list for nearly a year, they really make a big difference with my garden work. (time savings verses shovel and pitchfork) The broad fork is great.
One of my friends used the grape hoe and said he has to get one. The wheel hoe is on my list now.

S. Smith from MI     07/24/14

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

I bought the grape hoe and cultivating fork to work a large xeriscaped planting bed that has been evolving for the past 5 years. My biggest problem has been bermuda grass runners and these are the first tools I've used where I felt like I was winning! The Secret of Easy Weeding article helped as much as the tools because it got my attitude right about the process. There was also a bit of a learning curve to use the grape hoe efficiently with less effort. I figured out that I could use more of a broom sweep at times than the chopping motion. Plus, I learned to get just that right sound when the hoe head came in contact with the enemy....kind of like a good golf swing making contact with the ball. There is a certain sound!

Terri from TX     07/24/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I highly recommend Easy Digging's products. The price is higher up front but these tools will last forever. Trying to work this hard, rock infested Southern Missouri soil is a challenge. The big box stores don't even carry hand tools that will work it. However, the Easy Digging grub hoe and tined cultivator work it with relative ease due to their weight and strength.

ED from MO     06/24/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Great, love them hoes!

Tom     04/03/14

Rating = 4.6 / 5     See Review

My wife is Japanese and these are common over in her homeland. I simply cut the handle off a bit to fit her stature and she loves it. Only suggestion would be to offer shorter handle available for smaller folks.

Mike from FL     03/20/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Last year I bought your "Chillington Crocodile" four-prong cultivator (or more properly, a Canterbury fork). Weight and balance are perfect, and the long tines on its head are so much sturdier and more useful than the shorter and flimsier models sold at retail outlets. Not only is it ideal for working the soil before planting, there's nothing better for turning compost as well. A good follow up to the 4" Grub Hoe I bought from you over a year previously, this is a mainstay in my tool shed and is probably the only hoe I'll ever need to buy. Both of these are built to last.

Philip from MO     03/05/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I bought 2 hoes and a cultivator, and I'm very satisfied with the quality of the products. You just can't buy a hoe and cultivator like the ones offered by EasyDigging website at any of your local stores or home product/hardware centers. Though hoeing your garden is quite a chore when it is overgrown between planting seasons, the solid, stout hoes I bought (6" & 8") almost make the task seem fun. With the weight of these hoes you an really move dirt and weeds with comparatively little effort in contrast to typical "heavy duty" hoes you might have bought at your local home products center. I may buy the wedge-shaped hoe/cultivator eventually if in converting an overgrown patch of land I run across many rocks in the soil. Customer service was great and I received my order rapidly.

Fred from TX     03/05/14

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

great tools make the work go quickly and easily.... used them a little just before the winter hit and was amazed by the ease and ergonomics and can't wait for spring to really use them for a full season... super quality... delivery NEXT DAY!!! WOW!!! best garden tools ever... extremely happy with the entire experience EasyDigging is well named thanks for the fine products.

John from MO     02/21/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

so far so good.

Monroe     02/9/14

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

I use tools from Easy Digging in my landscape contracting and nursery business, and power the composting systems that keep the business and my half-acre garden and orchard growing. I recommend Easy Digging tools in the ecological design and edible landscaping workshops I teach. We would be much less productive without them!

Earthkeeper Landscaping from OR     02/09/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review