Reviews of our Grub Hoe

A grubbing hoe (also called a grub hoe) is mainly used to dig and till the soil. It will also chop through sod to break it up and allow removal.   Click here to see the tool details, pricing, and sizes: Grub Hoe page

Here are links to our pages with Grape Hoe reviews, and our Fork Hoe reviews, and our general Garden Hoe reviews.

Two sizes of grub hoes

Verified Customer Reviews

List is only updated a few times each year. For most recent reviews, click here.

These hoe's are amazing. I have chopped bunches and bunches of weeds and briers.

Debbie from United States     07/20/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I ordered the 6" grub hoe and am very pleased with the quality of the tool; the service was excellent and delivery time on par. Will gladly do business here again.

MM from AR     07/18/18

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

I bought the six inch grub hoe by accident, I actually wanted the grape hoe, but when it arrived I could not part with it so I bought both, now I have the whole line up of tools from ez digging.
I had enough of the cheap stamped steel, both American and Chinese,that passes for the norm these days, that inferior quality will not hold up to the the rocky Maine soil, but these do!

Paul from ME     07/18/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I first learned of the grub hoe from you guys. My favorites are the 3 tine digger and the grape hoe. All of your stuff is high quality. Highly recommended!

High quality . High productivity. from IL     07/18/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I bought the six inch grub hoe, and I'm very happy with the quality of the tool. The buying process was also fine. However, I was a little disappointed when I received the grub hoe and realized that the size of the tool is measured by width, not the height of the blade. (In retrospect, that makes perfect sense and it was my mistake, but in my mind I was buying a tool that had a six inch long blade and from the pictures appeared to be perhaps four inches in width. I would make one suggestion -- perhaps EasyDigging.com could include a label on the web image that clarifies the measurement of the of the blade. If I had understood before my purchase, I would have bought the smaller hoe. That said, these are high quality tools and I can make this work for my purposes.

Isaiah from KS     07/01/18

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

I bought a 6 inch grub hoe to be used to maintain our existing garden and to expand our garden by 5,000 square feet. It has taken the place of my garden spade forever. It is such a joy to use and it's so much better than a spade or shovel when digging or moving soil. My grub hoe has saved me so much time and work during this expansion project. It is one of my most valuable garden tools. I will be purchasing the 4 inch grub hoe to be used for some of the finer work in the garden. Thank you for providing such high quality and useful tools. I am sure this hoe will be by my side for decades.

Trent H from UT     06/25/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The grubbing hoe I purchased from you was a dream to use for moving lots of earth, as compared to a regular garden hoe or a mattock pick.

C.G. from United States     06/19/18

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

The hoe is a monster. I have never seen anything like this.

Anonymous from UT     06/19/18

Rating = 3.8 / 5     See Review

The grub hoe I ordered is a dream to use and the best built digging tool I own. I used it to expand my garden by about 8,000 square feet and it saved me so much time and effort. I am so happy with my purchase.

Trent from UT     05/23/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Excellent product!!!
This is the first time I have ever given a testimonial for any product that I have ever purchased. The 6" Grub Hoe is a high quality tool that makes sod removal incredibly easy and quick. Quick shipping, everything as promised.
BUY ONE!

Tim D. from ID     05/16/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I learned about your company through a gardening book that I had read. The author praised the quality of your tools and having received mine I can easily see why. No doubt they are quality made and I am looking forward to using them in the garden. I ordered 4 items including the 6" grub hoe and am very well pleased.

Derek from NC     05/16/18

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

The grub hoe I ordered is an awesome, old school, dirt moving tool.

Thomas from VA     05/16/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Very happy with our purchase of the back hoes. They are very good heavy tools and do a great job on removing weeds including the roots.

Mel G. from CA     05/16/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Great tool overall well and well made. Two things that need to be improved.
1) the handle needs to be made oval or not plumb round the tool tends to roll in the hand when working with it.
2) the part of the hand that fits in the hoe head needs to be bigger for a tighter fit before the wedge is inserted.

Jeremy D. from KY     04/19/18

Rating = 4 / 5     See Review

Received my grub hoe and couldn't be more pleased. Top quality and excellent service. Awesome.

Sean L from WA     04/17/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I have purchased from Easy Digging in the past. I needed some heavy duty hand tools for work in my garden and I immediately thought of Easy Digging. I checked their web-site and found exactly what I needed. Their prices are so good that I did not even look anywhere else. I'm looking forward to using the two grub hoes that I purchased. I do like the free shipping!

Village Gardener from OH     04/16/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I am a 71 year old great grandmother.
I let my garden get overgrown with weeds and Bermuda grass after I injured a knee. Then even though the knee was better, I avoided the garden for another year. I knew that I needed something tougher than the usual garden tools offered at the local stores.
I remembered my father having a garden tool he called a grubbing hoe many years ago (1950's). So I did an internet search and found that few people sold such things now days. I settled on EasyDigging.com. as the best choice.
I read the reviews and watched the how-to videos and sent off for two tools that I thought would do the job. I could not be more pleased. The tools seem heavy at first but the hoe head and handle are perfectly balanced. The weight of the hoe bites into the dirt all on it's own without effort on my part. All I have to do is lift it and let it drop! Taking out shrubs takes a bit more effort but most of the work I needed it for is Bermuda grass.
I cleared the veggie garden area two weeks ago and today I finished a 10' x 30' grass matted mess that I will plant grape vines in. Now I need a grape hoe. :-) Guess where I will buy that at?

Granny get your hoe! from FL     04/16/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

After hearing Dave the Good refer to your tools on several occasions, I decided to give them a try...and glad I did! The craftsmanship and quality of tools is beyond compare. The 4 in Grub Hoe I purchased has become my favorite digging tool.

Justin from AL     03/29/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Just enjoying working outside using my h.d hoe.

Juan from TX     03/24/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Worked the vegetable beds for an afternoon and found the 4 inch grubbing hoe a very efficient tool. I'm glad to have it. Thank you for your easy to use and informative website and easy ordering system.

Sunitsubo from United States     02/20/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Love the ease of this tool. Makes fast work of removing sod. We are going to buy another for another piece of property we own!

Paula from WA     02/20/18

Rating = 4.2 / 5     See Review

Fantastic tool.Added a "back-saver" attachment for better leverage as I have a bad back. Dug a 1000 foot trench in no time to bury a cable satellite line. Used it to pull out multiple Oak tree shoots on a steep hillside. Cut right through through roots. Maintained its sharpness.

Mellowbreze from CA     01/15/18

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I purchased a grub hoe to remove the lawn from my backyard. I appreciate the simplicity and ruggedness of the tool. The instructions to assemble the hoe were easy to follow. I would like to stress that it's very important to follow the instructions! The first time I did it, I tried a shortcut and hammered in the wedge rather than pound the wedge on the ground as instructed. The blade came loose after a few days of use. After disassembling the hoe, which was easy, and reassembling per instructions, everything worked perfectly.

Elijah from CA     12/21/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I have slowly been working on clearing grass from areas of my yard to replace with planters and raised beds. It was back breaking work until my grub hoe arrived. I won't say it's fun work now, lol, but it is certainly a lot easier. This is the first 'good' garden tool I've ever owned, but it won't be the last now that I see what a difference a quality tool makes!

P.B from TX     11/14/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I bought the grub hoe. Only a little bit of testing so far but it is a very nice tool.

Too P. from CA     11/14/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Ordered the big garden hoe, it works great, the weight helps it to get down deep in the soil.

Dennis M. from IN     10/31/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I first contacted Greg to see which size of grub hoe I should buy. Based on my needs he recommended the 6" hoe, and I'm glad I got that one. I never asked country of origin on these but it turns out they're from Brazil (I may have the country wrong, but I know the head isn't made in the USA if anybody is really strict about buying American-made tools).
If you're on the fence about buying one, I'll say that as soon as you pick this thing up you'll find jobs for it. I dug a trench with mine after turning a lot of soil over in my garden. There is a reason this design has been popular with farmers and gardeners, all over the world, for millennia.
Follow the handle installation instructions (included) carefully or you might crack your handle like I did. Thanks to the miracle of modern wood glues it'll be okay, but better to avoid the problem altogether.

Cory L from IL     10/23/17

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

Received grub hoe on time; works terrific in turning soil in my new veggie garden!

Henry M. from CA     10/23/17

Rating = 4.2 / 5     See Review

I really wanted 2" wide hoe rather than 4" I bought. 2" would be great as a ladies version and I would use it myself for creating and maintaining edged planting areas in lawn.

Kent from VA     09/25/17

Rating = 4 / 5     See Review

The products you sell are fantastic I had to re order twice because my friends kept refusing to return my digging hoes since nobody could find such high-quality products.

J.K. from United States     09/25/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Not sure why I didn't get a Grub hoe sooner

Alan P. from SD     09/3/17

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

Great tool that really made my job easier. I had a 50x10 plot on the side of the house that needed cleanup and redesign. Previous owner left a trailer and other debris. I used to use a spade on hands and knees rolling old grass and weeds. The grub hoe with long handle was a lifesaver on my back and overall experience.

Michael B. from NY     08/23/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I was referred to Easy Digging by DavidTheGood from http://www.thesurvivalgardener.com/ I purchased the, '6" Grub Hoe - with 60 inch handle'. The handle is very thick and metal in the hoe head are very thick carbon steel. It takes an edge very well when you need to touch it up after grubbing up a good section of sod/roots. I am very pleased with my purchase.

Charles B. from FL     08/22/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

One of the wood handle split at the end.

Julia from MD     08/22/17

Rating = 4.4 / 5     See Review

Using the hoe was fantastic! It isn't for heavy, rocky, dense soil, but it was great for long neglected yard work. It replaces those light duty rototiller that you could rent when limited access is a problem. I got a large area done in less time than digging with a shovel with far less back, leg, and arm strain.
Thwack it into the ground, lift and push the soil up, pull out and repeat!
I used the wide hoe to loosen the soil followed by my seventy year old Dad using the smaller hoe to break up the pieces; then raking in preparation for planting. Perfect.
Happy as a clam! Replaces a rototiller.
The thinner one bends a little in tougher ground, but it really wasn't designed for that.
I would like more choice in the length of a handle to adjust for height and arm strength for my Dad.
We also have raised garden boxes and a shorter handle would be easier to use.

Pete H from CO     07/19/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

My only less than five star was the price, but I willingly shelled out the $40 for the grub hoe. I understand after years of gardening and farming that quality tools cost significantly more, but last a lot longer (assuming proper care).

Josh from IL     06/26/17

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

The information provided on the website and delivered with the grub hoe and mattock was very helpful and easy to follow. The tools were delivered in a timely manner. The tools are high quality and were well worth getting for our trenching project.

Joe S. from MD     06/26/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Thank You!!! for such wonderful products at a reasonable price. We hope you folks stay in business for a long time to come. We purchased 4 items and were satisfied with them all. The metal on the hoe's could have been a little heavier to eliminate a little bounce, but I'm sure that most don't like a heavy tool to work with. We would recommend your product to anyone and everyone!!

Jim and Sue C. from VA     06/26/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Purchased both the 6 inch and 4 inch grub hoes. Both are very well made and work very well to till up the soil here in Florida. Shipping was fast and everything was well packaged.

Tony C. from FL     06/08/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I purchased a 6" Grub Hoe that came with 60 inch handle after a colleague of mine recommended it to me. Delivery was quick and assembly very easy. It is of high quality, works great and outperformed other 2 hoes that I had purchased earlier from local stores. I highly recommend it to anyone wishing to have easy digging and excellent results!

Fred from NY     06/01/17

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

It took me a little time getting use to the handling the grub. I like the results that it does.

Tom K from IA     05/17/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I got a grub hoe and a broad fork, and my life has forever been altered for the better! These tools are THE BEST! An absolute must for home gardening!!!

Hunter K. from PA     05/16/17

Rating = 4.4 / 5     See Review

I bought a 6" grub hoe from Easy Digging and I couldn't possibly be happier with the quality and ease of use. I would easily recommend their products to anyone.

Lakin from GA     05/16/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The long handles on the hoes are not long enough. 60" may be good for a 5 foot guy, the need to be at least one foot longer and ideally for someone like me at 71" tall the handle needs to be 7 foot long. It will be great if you offer longer handles for your hoes. Now the hoe is of very good quality and does the job well; I just wish I didn't need to bend so much to use it.

Will from TX     04/19/17

Rating = 3.2 / 5     See Review

Ordered the 6 inch wide grub hoe - it worked like a charm and I've since found many more uses for it beyond my original intentions.

Theo S from MD     04/18/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

They have great hoes! This is my second and it was a gift. The first one is still going strong. I'm 6'2" and this let's me dig without bending over. My back loves it

Jim from KY     04/18/17

Rating = 4.6 / 5     See Review

My wife wanted a grub hoe (which I had heard of but never used.) This tool is amazing, it is fantastic for preparing beds, turning and opening ground. We have a thin layer of topsoil over clay bed the hoe works it quickly. The tool blade is well made and the handle is sturdy and comfortable to hold.

Anonymous from TX     03/22/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I purchased a grub hoe. The quality of the product exceeded my expectations. It has made the task of digging a trench, an edging, or a hole so much easier and faster. Being a female, not having the upper body strength of a man, makes it a great benefit. I am so impressed with the quality of the product and service. So much so that I am looking forward to purchasing my next item, the Fork Hoe.

Clemence from MA     02/24/17

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I bought a grub hoe and love it! It makes working the soil much easier than by using a shovel or standard hoe.

David from TN     12/16/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I bought a grub hoe and love it! It makes working the soil much easier than by using a shovel or standard hoe.

Larry from CA     11/29/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I ordered a six inch grub hoe first, to see what kind of product Easy Digging was selling for such a low price. I am very happy with the excellent quality of the head, and bought two more, but the handles leave something to be desired, in my opinion. They are too short for me, and they are lacquered.

Nathan from TX     11/16/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I purchased the 4" and 6" grub hoe. My wife and I love them. They feel great and work great. It is nice to work with a tool you are confident will last, even under heavy use.

Anonymous from USA     11/16/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I expected a stronger hoe. I'm very disappointed with the hoe I bought RECENTLY. The second time I used the hoe, I was digging and the steel hoe head bent. Again, I expected the steel to be stronger. I wanted to contact customer service about this but haven't had the time.

Gary M from NC     10/23/16

Rating = 1.4 / 5     See Review

I'm superbly impressed with the two Grub hoes I ordered:
The forged steel blade is dense enough to power through the rocky clay soil I'm working with, yet easy to sharpen and file. There's no need to fret over being too gentle with these work horses, however at first glance you might be fooled. The wooden handles seem to be selected carefully as the wood grain is flowing perfectly vertical (best for a tool designed with impact in mind). They are also extremely ergonomic, no sore back to complain about here. The tools I ordered are light weight and completely surpass any other hoe product one might find at a retail chain.
I also ordered a Wheel Hoe double wheel cultivator, however I have yet to use it. I would like to emphasize that the quality of this item seems to be on par with what I described above.
You can't go wrong with the quality you'll find here.

Keith S from NC     010/19/16

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

Need to get these hoes in Lowes stores so people don't have to go hunting on the internet or pay shipping.
But, this grub hoes is great. inbetween of a pickaxe and hoe. i used it level ground with water for a patio and unload the dirt from a trailer. ill probably use it to dig a trench for a french drain and to clear brush and shooter trees in the future.

Pancakebut from United States     08/20/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Good tool came fast. I use it for wildland firefighting and my garden the long handled grub is my favorite tool

Joel from United States     08/17/16

Rating = 4.4 / 5     See Review

The grub hoe has become my favorite tool. It is phenomenal for big jobs and it is still exceptional at precise edging. I've already recommend it to half a dozen people.

Sean from CA     07/19/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Excellent grub hoe, with strong steel and a quality handle. This greatly simplifies many garden tasks, as well as making the work experience much more satisfying. Price is very reasonable for a tool of this quality. Highly recommended.

Todd from VT     07/18/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Ordered 6" grub hoe for my husband for our hobby garden. From him: "The hoe was fantastic. It busted up black gumbo clay like it was sand on the beach. Definitely cut the handle down to size like recommended and use a file to keep it sharp."

Jenny W from TX     06/27/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Everything about ordering was easy and clear, delivery was timely and best of all, I didn't have to hire someone to till my raised bed gardens. I used my grub hoe and, even though I'm 77 years old, it was easy to ready my vegetable gardens for planting.

Nancy from RI     06/17/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

You may have noticed I gave five stars for all my responses. This is a first for me. in decades of buying. I used the mattock to remove a 3' diameter X 2' foot high stump (prepared by 6 months under epsom salts covered in plastic) by chipping out 4x4 chunks like cutting butter. When using my weed whacker and, later a standard issue hoe, failed to remove an invasion of ground cover in my flower garden, (and leaving me exhausted). 15 minutes after wielding my new Grub hoe had the clay soil amended and prepped for the mulch. The metal in both tools is the real deal, easy to keep clean and sharp. And my back didn't hurt one bit after any time I used these tools. How satisfying!

Parmachella from OH     06/16/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

My wife loves her grub hoe. It is the same style she grew up with in Thailand. Her sister brought just the blade of one back to the states with her the last time she went to Thailand.

Gary from NH     06/16/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I enjoy using these tools. The 4" grub hoe is my favorite so far. It seems I expend half the energy for twice the results or more! Great tools and service.

Susan from FL     06/16/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

A grubbing hoe is perfect for cutting weeds & palmettos that we have in Louisiana. Things a regular hoe won't cut. Glad I bought it.

Bill from LA     06/16/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The grub hoe I purchased seems to be a sturdy, well made tool. I like the weight, the sharpness, and the length of the handle is a good fit for me (I'm 5'11"). I've only tried it out for a brief time as we have had nothing but rain and mud since I bought it. My first impression is that it cuts through sod quite easily and I'm looking forward to working up my garden with it once the ground dries. Sure, it's slower than a rototiller but it's nice to hear the birds while I'm working and it actually cuts the sod easier than a rototiller does. I'll be back to easydigging.com for any other garden tools I need.

Blair from WI     06/16/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

A friend had two of your tools which he brought to help with a digging project. After he left I found I really had many uses for the tool and it was much easier to use than a shovel in many instances. So I bought the 4" grub hoe (I think this is what it is called). Great tool!

KB from MO     05/21/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I had a friend talk to me about using an azada to pull up sod. He pointed me to easydigging and I bought the smaller one. The product arrived on time and was packaged well. It came with easy to follow instructions to assemble the tool and I was in business. It worked better than I had hoped and it going to see a lot use this spring!

Charlie from WI     05/20/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Not only was the grub hoe amazing, but the customer service was above and beyond! I noticed after I received the confirmation email that I forgot to put the post-directional on my address. I sent a message to customer service thinking they wouldn't receive it in time. Boy, was I wrong. I got another message stating that they received my message and updated my mailing label. My hoe was delivered two days after I ordered it. This was probably one of the best online customer service experiences I've had!

Sondra from WI     05/17/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I LOVE my Grub Hoe! I'm a 77-year-old woman with back pain. I was trying to control encroaching bamboo with a maddox and 4 or 5 hacks was all i could manage before pain and exhaustion stopped me. I knew I needed something lighter, better balanced and without the unnecessary pick end. I can hack much more bamboo with my Grub Hoe. It's also great for trenching and weeding dandelions. They picked the right name with "Easy Digging". Thanks "Easy"!

Susan from GA     04/20/16

Rating = 4.6 / 5     See Review

I love my new grub hoe, have used it to break up ground for a new planting. I was amazed how quickly it arrived, thanks!

Debbi from IN     04/19/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

My 4" grub hoe allows me to work a 4' x 32' space. I am 72 and in one hour and a half, I can dig an area 2' x 4', knock the dirt off the turf, place the turf in a composting area, sift the loosened dirt with a 1/2 inch hardware cloth strainer, and mix in a 2" layer of organic composted chicken manure and a 2" layer of earthworm castings. I have reclaimed 16' of gardening space, and am growing peas, onion sets, and a few flowers so far. I am very happy that this simple tool allows me to garden.

Shirley C from WA     04/19/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I ordered a 4 inch digging hoe. I had ordered the 6 inch last year but wanted one a little lighter for cultivation and narrower uses. The quality of these tools is amazing. I wish the USA would manufacture this kind of quality again.
I am very satisfied with both of the hoes. I have demonstrated them to other gardeners in my area and they were very impressed. I have dug new gardens with these tools. Yes, it is work, but not strenuous like digging with a shovel. If we ever have a gas shortage, I am prepared. These tools are made to last. They are balanced, made with quality steel and hardwood, so they will be here for a long time. I have something I can pass down to the future generations.

Mr Green Jeans from NE     04/19/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

ED was willing to make the handle a little longer for me (sweet). The shipping was lightning-fast (sweeter). This grub hoe tool shreds (sweetest)!

J from MN     04/19/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

If I could be buried with one tool to take into my afterlife, it would be a toss up between my 4" grub hoe and my Swiss Army "Tinker" pocket knife.

Jim from CA     03/14/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Great hoe for breaking sod before tilling. The quality of the tool and handle is just great, I can see years of happy digging with this tool.

Marc from BC Canada     02/19/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Everything is good so far BUT... We live in NORTHERN NEW YORK. Do not expect to use the grub hoe (mattock) until the thaw comes. (perhaps March??? Most of our Easter pictures have snow in them. That's why we dye Easter eggs:):):))

Bob from United States     01/19/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I gave the handle assist product to a friend, so don't know how that performs yet. This is the third grub hoe I've bought...a second for work, third for a friend starting a garden project. What an under utilized tool. The grub hoe is excellent- sturdy, properly weighted, great tool. Shipping was super fast. Only thing with my grub hoe is after four years the hoe tends to slip up the handle and I cant seem to get it to stay down solidly where it's supposed to stay. Otherwise, fantastic.

Gabriel from MO     01/14/16

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

This grub hoe is a fantastic and expertly made tool, miles above the standard western-style hoe -- incredibly tough and well-sharpened blade made of fine steel, plus a long sturdy handle. I'm confident this tool will last for a lifetime of laying down furrows, digging up roots, clearing away weeds, etc. I couldn't be more pleased with this tool. In fact, after buying this grub hoe, I asked for another one (with a longer, narrower blade) for Christmas!

Owen from United States     12/22/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Shipping was quick and efficient. I'm pleased with my grub hoe and broad fork. They work great, and a good workout!

Jim W from ME     10/15/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I needed to demolish my lawn. I went to the store and looked at the hoes. The handles ended way too soon. I contacted @EasyDigging on Twitter and Greg Baka answered all my questions. I bought the 4" Grub Hoe with 5 foot handle. I demolished the lawn. And then I couldn't stop hoeing. I'm writing this in between hoeing. My wife wants me to stop, but I just can't.

Joe from United States     10/15/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

WOW! The grubbing hoe is super! We both love it and are enjoying improving our technique. We are having some landscaping done and when our contractor tried it he was amazed.

Mike P from United States     09/16/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I had some trail work to do in a Oregon Wilderness. I bought the 5 foot handle, 6 inch grub hoe thinking it would be perfect and I was 100 percent correct. It is a trail making machine that eliminates back pain and moves more dirt than I have ever moved before making new trail. Once all the big roots where broken it was trail time. What also made it good was that I felt as if I was truly a valued customer with very personal quality service. I can tell Greg Baka, the owner, really has heart and that goes a long way in a Home Depot world.

Darin from United States     08/16/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

After getting used to tilling a different way {human rototiller},I soon realized how easy it was to let the weight of the tool{grub hoe} do the work. I would certainly recommend others I know purchase one. I worked up 2024 sq. feet of garden rows in 4.5 days. I am 70 years old and i don't get worn out like I would with my 350 pound walk behind tiller.
Thanks Greg! Great tool.
Fellow gardeners, buy a grub hoe and you too will see and feel the difference in the way you prepare your gardens. and by the way, great packaging and prompt shipping.

Paul Z from PA     08/13/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Got the grub hoe to dig into a dirt hill and work in the garden. Works great. Very heavy duty. Handle could have been a smidgen longer

Penn from United States     08/13/15

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

Bought a grub hoe - what a great tool.

DP from CO     08/13/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I love my grub hoe and bought a second one for my gardening neighbor (who kept borrowing mine).

Dan C from NY     07/16/15

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

Love your tools and your approach. Straight-forward, honest info and quality products. If you guys carry it, we are confident it is a quality item. Your hoes cultivate a quarter acre of garden, a large garlic patch, raspberries, 200+ strawberries in heavy, wet soil. We can hand hoe when the soil is much too wet for any machine to get in there. My 6 year old uses the 4" grubbing hoe while I use the 6". He isn't just pretending to help -- he can really make a difference. The unbreakable broadfork is fantastic. Well made and thought through completely. We would and do recommend your tools to many.

KT from WV     07/14/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I didn't buy the hoe for myself. I bought it for a family from Tanzania who began attending our church. The wife was trying to use one of the ordinary hoes we have in America to actually work new dirt. That is something she has done many times in her country -- but NOT with our kind of hoe!
She complained to me about not being able to find a hoe like she is used to. After I welded the hoe she broke, I told her we could probably get one she would like if we went on-line. That is how I discovered your store. Needless to say, she was overjoyed when I presented the proper hoe to her at church one Sunday.
I then told her I would till her garden and from now on, she would be able to work the ground with her new hoe without ever breaking it like the small American hoe. She is very happy with her new hoe.

Ray from PA     07/14/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Where has the grub hoe been all my life?!?!?!? I absolutely love this thing. I bought it on a "whim" as I was looking for a broadfork, so I saw the grub hoe and got that also. I just got around to using them (I don't like to mess with the soil, and it hasn't rained much until recently) and I couldn't be happier with both of them. I have been into landscaping for years and worked as apprentice electrician for the past few years, therefore I can say with extreme confidence that the grub hoe is the greatest hand digging tool available and if you have to hand dig anything this tool should be on-site. The only bad thing I can say is that the paint is coming off a bit where my feet go on the broadfork,other than that these two tools are expected to last for years to come. I had no problems with shipping across country or anything else either...

Mike D from VA     07/13/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

All tools received are outstanding quality - far better than anything I could find locally. The 4in and 6in Grub Hoes combined with the Cutter Mattock are great for trenching. The handles on these tools are superior - longer and somewhat thicker than most digging tools - you would have a difficult time ever breaking these. Assembly/care instructions are easy to follow too. Customer service was great - I asked for delayed shipment since I was going to be out of town, and the tools arrived when I requested - a two days after I was back in town.

Charley from OR     06/22/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Easy digging sounds too good to be true, but it isn't. The grub hoe is a tool that I actually look forward to using, and search for reasons to use it.

John from MN     06/19/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Site was easy to navigate, informative. The transaction was trouble free. Delivery was prompt. The product came in good shape, well-packaged.
The azada is a revelation. I puttered around in the yard with it, and it is just what the doctor ordered for easily breaking ground, grubbing small(ish) roots. No bending or hard muscle work if you use gravity to do the work.

David C from TN     05/15/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Love the 6" grub hoe! I've wanted one of these for a long time, found many references to it on other gardening sites. I was very surprised at how fast I received the hoe! The day it was delivered, I couldn't help putting the handle on and taking it to a brand new patch of ground where I wanted a new bed. It was a fair sized bed too, about 15' by 15', but it was much easier to dig with the grub hoe than a shovel. I now have a great tool that has been used several times this spring already.
It's made to last, like the type of tools you would see in an antique shop, and it will be a keeper for me!

Doug from NE     05/14/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The hoes I ordered work great. They are balanced just right so when you swing them your back muscles don't protest. I have been amazed at how even I can use the 4lb grub hoe easily even though I am a slight woman at 108 lbs and 5'5" with a history of back trouble. Easy Digging has a great tool!

Bobby Lynn from NC     05/14/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Our HVAC / plumbing guy told us about the grub hoe when he saw the small forest of trees sitting on our driveway ready to plant. Then browsing through your catalog, I came across the wheel hoe and was smitten. We ordered both. They arrived quickly, were in perfect condition, and the assembly instructions were very good. Both products work well in our heavy clay/sand/rocks soil. We've already recommended you to a couple of our friends.

Anne & Robert from NC     05/13/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I bought a grab hoe for my wife. She is from Thailand and couldn't find one where we live. She loves it. It is made very strong and has a awesome job. She loves it so much she wants to buy a second grab hoe. If you want great digging tools I suggest you get them from EasyDigging.com

Johnny from GA     05/13/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

No problems with this purchase whatsoever. I love the grubbing hoe and have been using it regularly.

Robert from United States     04/28/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I ordered the Grub hoe to Clear weeds. and it does a great job by chopping the roots and all from the ground. the weight of the grub hoe makes it easy to chop the weeds.

Joe from AZ     03/19/15

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

I'd never used a grub hoe before, but now that I have it's the first tool I go to for yard work. What a time and effort saver!

Robert P from FL     03/19/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I was amazed by the solid construction of both the grubbing and two prong hoe. I expect I'll be handing these down to my children after many years of service to myself!

David from PA     03/18/15

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I was searching for the right sized Grub Hoe in the local hardware store but I could not find it. Finally I found it at Easydigging.com. I could pick it locally saving me shipping cost. It is very nice and strong. Good value for the money.

Puttur from MO     02/20/15

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

I've only used the grub hoe I bought a few times so far - I haven't started the project I bought it for yet - but when I have used it, it has done a great job of digging trenches. We have very clay-rich soil with lots of vine roots growing through it and the tool makes short work of digging. The only minor issue has been that some vines and roots are a little too big (2") to easily cut through. Overall, very satisfied with the tool.

Kevin from GA     11/19/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I lived in Brasil as a teenager. I learned that the American digging toolkit is woefully incomplete without an Enxada and Enxadao.
Years later, my wife wants to do some yard renovations, and Brazilian style hoes are clearly the solution, so I ordered one of each configuration. I was ecstatic to receive hoes that were actually made in Brasil, and very familiar to me. The handles are strong and well finished, even though I was used to making my own handles in Brasil. I live in the Arizona desert, so Hickory saplings are in very short supply, and your handles are a very, very good alternative!
I am extremely happy with the purchase and only saddened by one thing: These tools will last me a lifetime, so I will not need replacements anytime soon. I guess I will just have to convince my friends to buy from you so I can enjoy the unboxing and assembly again!

Ricardo from AZ     11/19/14

Rating = 4.6 / 5     See Review

A friend saw me working some soil in my yard and told me about this product. I have repeatedly thanked him because I didn't know what a grubbing hoe was and it was just what I needed to do some small tilling jobs in my yard. Easy Digging provided on time delivery of a product that was easily assembled. It is heavy duty and high quality. Works great.

CJ from TX     09/24/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I'm a volunteer on the trail maintenance crew at Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area near Las Vegas, NV. Our work typically involves digging and grading; usually in hard, rocky soil. The grub hoe that I bought recently from Easy Digging has proven to be an ideal tool for the job, supplementing the usual pick-mattocks, McClouds, and shovels. I highly recommend the tool...and the vendor!

Larry from NV     09/23/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Great products! I bought both a 4 inch and 6 inch hoe. They are heftier than the grub hoe I replaced, which was a well known brand. My old hoe didn't survive being run over by my tractor and finish mower. I also like the 60 inch handle, which can be cut down to fit your exact size. The hoes arrived in near record time after I placed my order.

Alabuc from OH     06/25/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The Grub Hoe that I purchased is already one of my favorite tools. It's perfect for edging/refreshing the lines on my perennial beds after the edger has cut the line.

Tim L from NJ     06/25/14

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

I live on Cape Cod and found Easy Digging on the net. I called, a very polite gentleman, took the call and within 10 minutes my order was filled. I had been looking for a good grub hoe for a while. The next day, I received the 2 hoes I ordered and they also included a file to keep the hoe sharp. A business card was included and a note telling me to contact them if I Had any problems. This company is over and above in customer relations. I highly recommend them if you need digging tools..............

Ray from MA     06/24/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

This hoe has long handle which I needed because I am tall and this hoe has a thick steel blade very good for removing roots and grass.

freddie s from tx     06/24/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I bought the 4" grub hoe with the shorter handle for my mother who is 74 years old. She has been positively thrilled with how well it works in her garden.

Anonymous from MT     06/24/14

Rating = 4.6 / 5     See Review

I was looking for traditional Asian digging tools because I work with a group of Bhutanese refugees in a community garden. They all agree that the Grub Hoe is the best tool for breaking up dirt and forming hills. After a month of heavy use, they are holding up nicely. Easy to assemble, nice and sharp, tough tools.

Ray from PA     06/24/14

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

In recent years it has become something of a novelty to buy something that is well made, well designed and works. The grub hoe is such a tool; it is perfectly weighted--enough to dig into hard soil yet light enough to be not too tiring to use because it is perfectly balanced.

SF from NJ     05/23/14

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

Saw this how used by the crew who installed 1100 sf of pavers around my home. It was obviously a better tool for removing sod and leveling the soil than a shovel. I had knee replacement surgery and want to avoid pushing a shovel with my surgically repaired leg. With this hoe I can dig using just my upper body. Important to keep it sharpened. The hoe is of good quality. Product arrived in a reasonable period of time.

Jax from FL     05/23/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Originally from Malaysia,I had gardened with a "Changkul", after searching all the garden centers, hardware stores in Calgary and the States, for the last 30 years, I finally got my changkul! from EasyDigging.com.I purchased the 4" and 6" grub hoes.Perfect all purpose tool for planting trees in my urban food forest garden.I'm 5'5' and not very strong.Super fast delivery, Excellent tools.

Lilian from AB Canada     05/22/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Quick shipping, Great tools, I will buy more in the future. Grubbing Hoe better than my Tiller.

David W from NC     05/22/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The hoe I received was perfect. It makes digging my garden so much easier. I couldn't find this heavy duty grub hoe anywhere around here (Seattle). The transaction and shipping went smoothly. Item was well-packed and just as advertised.

JE from NC     05/22/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I bought a grubbing hoe from easydigging.com and it has exceeded my expectations. Fantastic tool for gardening. Tip: read the "how to use grub hoe in the garden" section of the easy digging website or check the get digging website. Once you are into the rhythm of the tool it becomes much easier than anything else you ever used for digging.

Gary from WI     05/22/14

Rating = 4.6 / 5     See Review

I received the grubbing hoes promptly. I plowed a 27 X 90 foot garden with the 6-inch one. It is a lot of work (no surprise) but I think it's the best possible tool for plowing a garden by hand. Last year I went over the same garden 6 times with the rototiller and still didn't get in deep enough. The grubbing hoe went in about 6 inches deep (deep enough) and then I went over it once with the rototiller to break up the chunks and work in the fertilizer. Too bad there are no real grubbing hoes made in USA, but I suppose there isn't much demand for them here.

Eldon R from OK     04/17/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Hi-- When I die, I want to be buried with my grub hoe so that I can take it into my afterlife. Except for my dog, my bike, and possibly my wife, it's been my best friend. Buying this made a nice change in my life.

Jim from United States     04/13/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I received my order promptly and it was all there and all good. The assembly instructions were good. I tried out my grubbing hoe and it seems to be well designed and well made and it works just fine. Thanks for a good product at a good price.

Eldon from OK     03/23/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The grub hoe (both sizes) is THE BEST tool one could own. It is way better on the body than a shovel and is very versatile. Love it.

Lily from VT     03/22/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I like the EasyDigging site's charts and tool use guides. Originally thought I needed a mattock, but found that a Grub Hoe fit better for the tasks I had in mind.It's a good and serious tool. The site educated me on how to use it. Now I realize I could use the Grape Hoe as well. Thanks for making real tools available.

Lloyd J from CA     03/21/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Looking forward to using the grub hoe. I'm making a new 10x20 foot garden bed for corn and squash and couldn't find a way to transport a tiller. Hopefully this tool performs better than the lousy hoe I've been using.

Anonymous from United States     03/20/14

Rating = 4.6 / 5     See Review

I purchased 6" Grub Hoe for my gardening. I am originally from Japan and this hoe( we call kuwa ) is a must have tool. I am so glad that there is a shop in US selling this tool.

Wannabe from TX     03/20/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

The grub hoe works well, since it's much heavier than the 'standard' hoes you can buy local hardware, including Home Depot, Lowes, OSH.

Don from CA     03/20/14

Rating = 3.8 / 5     See Review

I use the hoe to make a Kuwa.

Jerry from ID     03/18/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Fantastic tool. I ordered the grub hoe (4 inch). It works great and is built very well. I know it will last a lifetime. Love the web site as well with all the info on digging french drains, etc.

Craig from SC     03/18/14

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

Although I decided to shorten the handle of my grub hoe after I'd used it a bit, I really like it for edging beds or for removing Bermuda grass that hasn't gotten in too deep where it can really slice and lift it out. The ergonomics are great and as long as I don't have too big a project, using the hoe is actually kind of fun.

Amber A from AR     03/11/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

Great grub hoe! I live in NJ and this is perfect for my gardening needs! I could not find this great tool in any of the stores around the area.

Thora from NJ     03/11/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I used to have a vintage grub hoe that seems to be on permanent loan. Since it seemed the equivalent to the 6 inch hoe I bought the 4" and the 8" to prevent duplication if I ever get it back. These are just as stout as the antique one I used happily for years. I find the 8" works well for clearing huge patches of blackberry down to ground level. The 4 inch works much better for digging out the roots and heavy digging. If you can only rationalize one hoe the 6" would be a fantastic tool for most use and I expect to buy one myself.

eCow from OR     03/06/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

very satisfied with my grub hoe,good overall size from delicate weeding to deep hole for compost. i should not need another one ever

Brent from IL     03/06/14

Rating = 3.2 / 5     See Review

You seem to be the only people that carry a Grub Hoe! Seems like a great tool and will come in handy for digging my new gutter trenches.

E. from OR     03/06/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

We bought the long handled hoe type digger, I liked it so much I got one for a friend!

JLP2617 from PA     03/05/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I found it annoying that no store in our area, including a hardware store in continuous operation for over a hundred years, had a grub hoe for sale. Easy digging sent me one quickly that fit the bill perfectly.

Anonymous from AL     03/05/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

We purchased the grub hoe to help with cleaning up small areas of the yard that needed moss removal and reseeding. The tool is very rugged and worked as expected. We also used it to prepare the ground surface for a brick walkway. The tool is easy to use and allowed for more precise excavating than with a rake or shovel.

Gene C from NH     03/05/14

Rating = 5 / 5     See Review

I love the azadas; they make the grubbing and digging job so much easier! I just wish the shipping wasn't so expensive, but then again, nobody else sells azadas where I live, so it is worth every penny I paid!

Mark B from HI     02/25/14

Rating = 4.8 / 5     See Review

Easy checkout process and got the Grub hoe that I have been wanting for a years

Orchid from United States     02/22/14

Rating = 2 / 5     See Review